Polaris Ranger 500 Earlier model discussions

5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 26 Old 02-10-2019, 02:45 AM Thread Starter
bms
Couch Potato

Newbie Help With Purchase

Hello,
I am new to the forums, and currently in the market for a smaller sxs. I have been researching the Ranger 500 and the Honda Pioneer 500. I know all the ďon paperĒ differences between them, and Iíve driven both a few times. Both dealers are relatively close, and the cost difference is minor (Honda maybe $350 less).

I am new to atvís and utvís - never owned either. I am older (59), so no crazy riding - nothing super fast or dangerous. My main uses are:

• Taking my 17 year old son, who has autism, for rides in the bush and teaching him to drive it.
  • Plowing my driveway.
  • My older son may drive it on bush roads near our home.
  • Minor, occasional yard work.

I have researched to the point of paralysis, and Iím looking for some advice from those who mayknow these machines. Any help would be appreciated!

Thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 02-10-2019, 10:38 AM
Flat Tire

When I was shopping for a larger machine last fall I found that the Honda was considerably noisier (engine noise) than the Polaris. I previously had Yamaha Rhino 400 and the only knock on the Yamaha was it was very noisy.
post #3 of 26 Old 02-10-2019, 02:37 PM
Super Moderator

Garage
The Honda 500 doesn't have a locker in the front differential which might be a problem plowing snow.
The Ranger is a step above the Honda in my opinion.

Smoother ride.
More stable.
Less noise.
Has a dump bed with a tailgate.
Has turf mode, which you will come to love if you get the Ranger.
Etc.

2017 Ranger 900 XP
2015 Ace 570
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 26 Old 02-10-2019, 02:47 PM
P.T
Slow Poke