mechanical genius or blind luck? - RangerForums.net - Polaris Ranger Forum
Polaris Ranger 500 Earlier model discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old 09-02-2019, 04:35 PM Thread Starter
Spectator

mechanical genius or blind luck?

Bought a 2006 Polaris Ranger 500 4x4 cheap since it idled too fast and wouldn't shift hardly at all unless you turned off the engine. Some internet reading convinced me that if the idle were fixed the Ranger would shift properly. I'm not a mechanic, but hey, what've I got to lose? I installed new: fuel filter, fuel lines, fuel tank cap, carburetor, spark plug, coil, spark plug wire. (Original spark plug had black soot. Maybe this is important later.) I got it to idle slowly and therefore shift easily. Yay!

Now, I'm a perfectionist. It would miss some at idle and wouldn't take gas. It would stutter and nearly die trying to accelerate from idle. I could get it going, but not perfect. Hmm. Maybe not getting gas or air flow not right. Bought a new fuel pump; installed. Now the carburetor overflows like crazy. This was the condition: it would start and idle very good for maybe 30 seconds. Then it would idle a good bit faster for maybe 30 seconds. Then it would die or nearly die. Carburetor overflows the entire time.

Maybe air flow restricted so it's not burning all the gas. Looked everywhere air flows: air filter under dump bed (fuel was running into this housing, uphill from the carburetor!), breathers under hood. I even disconnected the exhaust at the motor to make sure air was exiting properly. None these affected the idle: good, too fast, dies.

So, I unplugged the fuel pump. Perfect idle! Mechanical genius? It was getting too much fuel! It seemed to run fine without a fuel pump. I took it for a spin. After 2000 feet, it died and wouldn't start again. Aaarrrggg! Reconnected fuel pump. Back to original condition. Now backfires some.