Middle fuse burnt beyond recognituon - RangerForums.net - Polaris Ranger Forum
Polaris Ranger EV Discussions for the Electric Polaris Ranger EV.
Sponsored by: Voltronix USA

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 05-13-2019, 01:24 PM Thread Starter
Spectator

Middle fuse burnt beyond recognituon

My charger started blinking red twice for "low battery voltage". I checked the fuses under the seat and the middle fuse was completely burnt & melted. I'm new to EVs, but I've read that this fuse is undersized and is frequently replaced with a larger inline fuse. What color / # of amps is the original fuse, and what type / size of fuse is recommended when replacing with inline fuse?
Is there any other fuse or component that I need to check that is damaged when this fuse burns up?
Thanks,
Dave
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 05-13-2019, 01:54 PM
Turbo

You can bypass the center fuse by cutting the two center wires that go to the burnt fuse and then solder or tightly crimp the new external fuse holder. You can buy these at Autozone or Oreillys. I am using a fuse holder that takes the automotive type fuses that have a a larger spade. The fuse holder that I bought has a rubber lid cap that covers the fuse. Make sure that you replace it with a fuse of the same amperage. (some Ev’s have a 25 amp and others have 20 Amp fuses, why I don’t know). Either will work. The problem with these tiny fuses is that the small spades of the fuses as well as the fuse holders are not designed to carry the 18-20 continues Amps that the charger puts out during the first charging face. You will also need to keep a close watch of the MPC connector under the sear since they are also known to cause problems. If you want you can call me and I will gladly help or explain with more detail . Lou 217-430-3101
post #3 of 7 Old 05-13-2019, 02:40 PM
Cannon Ball

Arrow Charger Fuse

The 2013 uses a 30 amp, 48v rated fuse. Have never had a problem with ours.