Which winch to get as of 2018? - RangerForums.net - Polaris Ranger Forum
Polaris Ranger XP900 Discussions for the all new Polaris Ranger XP900

1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 06-10-2018, 06:09 AM Thread Starter
Mechanic

Which winch to get as of 2018?

So I'm a newbie to the side by sides. I just recently bought a new 2018 Ranger 900 XP and I'm looking to install a winch but I'm just not sure which one to get.

I don't plan on using the winch a lot but it's mainly going to be used for plowing but during the rest of the year sometimes I might drag trees that have fell around property. Might be handy for use on the trail, never know what might happen or if someone needs to be winched out. Either way, a winch is a must have regardless.

I had a Warn winch on my 2006 Honda Foreman and I abused that winch like crazy and it never failed once, expect I broke the cable a few times during plowing but that was it. I pulled full size railroad ties with it, flipped over a 7x12 boxed steel trailer. I did a lot of crazy stuff with it through the years. But from what I'm understanding now, Warn winches are not what they used to be.

I originally was going to get a KFI 4500lbs winch kit because it came with everything you needed including the mount, wiring and dash switch. I guess KFI makes just okay winches but their mounting bracket is very good from what I hear.

So I plan on getting the KFI mounting bracket and for a winch, I'm undecided which one to get. There is many discussions on them and not really a clear answer.

I did narrow it down between a Viper winch and Superwinch. I have a Superwinch in my enclosed car hauler that has always worked great but that winch is huge and the cable is huge haha and I'm sure its built different than ATV/UTV winches.