Polaris Ranger Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am a serious noob. A noob that likes to read, is learning fast, but is still in the weeds on the differences between batteries. I have read all of the threads on this forum about converting to LI. It seems like most things in the recreational vehicle world, it borders on being prohibitively expensive. Lead acid batteries are only getting 2 miles on a full charge. I got a great deal on the EV knowing that the batteries were just about toasted. It seems like the flagship upgrade is between 5000-7000 bucks. There has got to be another way!

I have access to a good friend who works on all kinds of golf carts, electric bikes, mopeds. This person is also a top level coder, so he can help me program the controller, computer, what have you.

I don't need a ton of amp hours, anywhere from 150-200 ah would be fine. I am assuming I can do 8 12v batteries, 4 24v batteries, or 2 48v batteries?

Are these batteries crappy?

Refurb Nissan Leaf batteries seem Pro/con?

Same question for other refurb EV car batteries.

If anyone can help me with the answers to any of this, I would be forever grateful!

Thanks,

Noob

·
Registered
1,460 Posts
Yep pretty much. You get what u pay for, sometimes less.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yep pretty much. You get what u pay for, sometimes less.
Thanks for the reply! I definitely understand getting what you pay for. My uses for the Ranger are probably different than most. I live in a small town suburb so this is like my golf cart for 4 mile radius. Also, I sell land and large acreage residential real estate. I use it to survey/show properties. Is there any benefit(besides the money and weight savings) or disadvantage in getting two good 48v 200AH batteries in parallel versus the standard 8 12v 30Ah batteries?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Update: