Polaris Ranger Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I purchased a bit of a Frankenstein 2011 RZR 800 I was told ran great but suffered an engine fire and the harness was replaced. Checked the basics (compression, timing, fuel, spark) everything seemed ok but it would crank, pop occasionally on a long crank, but no start. I'm an experienced mechanic but new to the Polaris world, decided to just let the dealer handle it. well, 3 months and $1400 they were unable to get it running either. They replaced the wiring harness and I believe a couple sensors, but then they started going down the throwing parts at it routine when I asked them what their methodology was they had no answer. I pulled the plug at that point. So now Im determined to figure this out myself now as this machine is really not that complicated! I have spark, I pulled the injectors, they are pulsing fuel on crank, compression test is showing 150 psi on both cylinders. I pulled the stator cover and timing marks are correct. ECU is only showing a code for rear differential which would not affect start. Shooting starter fluid into intake has no effect. Im going to try disabling the injectors and try running on ether momentarily to see if its bad fuel? Could it possibly be one of the sensors (TPS, Crank, Cam) not adjusted or not working correctly but not throwing a code? Any input from someone that knows these machines well would be really appreciated. thanks in advance!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Could a parking break play a role? I need the brake completely disengaged before it runs ****
So as I had previously mentioned, this is a cobbled together Polaris from and Older Ranger and drivetrain from a 2011RZR 800. I do not even see a parking brake on this thing. Ill have to check wiring diagrams to see where the switch is on the harness and see how it's setup.

·
Registered
76 Posts