Polaris Ranger Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. I’m fairly new to the side by side world. Just bought a really nice, low mile, ranger crew 1000 xp. It’s got 265 truck tires on it and a few inches of lift. I first day I had it I broke the reverse chain on it backing up in my driveway. After tearing into it, we realized the chain that I broke was a super atv heavy duty reverse chain. Thought that was odd. We went to order another, and come to find out, they don’t make the HD reverse chain kit for this transmission with this serial number that’s in my ranger. So, somebody had obviously put the wrong kit in it. The reverse gears don’t line up perfectly, which is why the chain broke we believe. I just ordered an $800 kit from Warranty killer performance and they sent me the exact same shaft that came in the super atv kit. So it obviously won’t work either. Does anybody have any ideas or tips? Or know of a company that makes a kit for this ranger

·
Registered
479 Posts
Not aware for the newer transmissions. Stock should work fine as long as your not mashing on it in reverse in peanutbutter mud.

Obviously the po beat on it some. And those 265's are totally most of the cause. Way too heavy. Even with portals they frown on truck tires. Wrong application.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Not aware for the newer transmissions. Stock should work fine as long as your not mashing on it in reverse in peanutbutter mud.

Obviously the po beat on it some. And those 265's are totally most of the cause. Way too heavy. Even with portals they frown on truck tires. Wrong application.
I’ve bought another set of tires for it already. But I’ve heard of people breaking the reverse chains before, and this stock one had already broke. So while I’m in the transmission I’d really like to upgrade it if I can.

·
Registered
479 Posts
Luke, what are your plans for the machine....riding style?