Polaris Ranger Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
563 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last September, when I went to the dealer to have some work done on my RZR, He was real proud of the fact that they had just got some K & N air filters in. A couple of months later a man I know was really happy about installing some new air filters on his ride. I am not a mechanic. I am just a parts changer. What is the advantage in installing new air filters? Do they give you more power? Do they make the motor run cooler? Do you get better gas mileage? Any information will be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
373 Posts
Performace can be better, better air flow. Most aftermarket filters are washable. And reoilable, That means it will be the last one you need to by.

·
Registered
185 Posts
I HAVE K&N FILTERS 2 UNDER THE HOOD AND 1 IN BACK

LOVE THE K&N FILTERS WORKS GOOD WITH THE RIDES THAT I GO ON SAND/TRAILS/ROCKS/HILLS/WATER

·
Registered
185 Posts
HAY FAMILYGUY I SEE THAT YOU PICKED UP SOME K&N.. 2 THAT GO UNDER THE HOOD... DID YOU GET THEM FOR DALE OR HERE IN AZ

DO YOU HAVE THE K&N FOR THE BACK???

·
Registered
119 Posts
wheelywelch said:
HAY FAMILYGUY I SEE THAT YOU PICKED UP SOME K&N.. 2 THAT GO UNDER THE HOOD... DID YOU GET THEM FOR DALE OR HERE IN AZ

DO YOU HAVE THE K&N FOR THE BACK???
I have been told by local dealers to remove the one in the back, once I got the two up front. But after researching the subject a little more, I see many, especially here in AZ-Because of the dust, keep the one in the back.

Does it restrict the air, have you tried it w/ out the back filter?? Do you have the Outerwears on yours??

I have a UniFilter in the back. So far so good, maybe sometime in the future I'll switch it to a K&N - Maybe. I was thinking about taking it off, so I'm sure having something there is better than nothing at all.

In response to the filter question, here's what Dale had to say about the filters- He made me a believer O0:

Dirty said: