Polaris Ranger Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have already converted my winch to the 3" webbing and absolutely eliminated the problem with the 1/4" steel cable getting unwound and tangled. I've been pushing snow for 2 years now and had great luck with the rig until the other day when I was plowing, the webbing came loose on the winch shaft. The webbing had a squared off sewn end for a loop and I had actually put a 1/4" allen wrench through the loop and stuck the short end of the allen wrench through the hole on the shaft...which is in the neighborhood of 1' diameter. I backed the strap all the way out (about 15' length) and found that the loop in the end of the strap was torn part way, maybe a inch and come loose. To get a quick fix, I turned the strap over, put the allen wrench through what loop was left and stuck the short end of the wrench through the 1/4" hole on the shaft and rewound it as tight as I could by hand. This allowed me to finish my plowing but I now have a weak place in my rig that I don't feel good about.
How have others attached this webbing to their winches? I'm even considering tearing the winch completely down and taking the shaft to a machine shop with a mill that can put another 1/4" hole on the oposite end of the shft that is exposed when the winch is fully assembled and ready to work. This would allow me to fashion 1/4" steel rod into a Square U, so to speak, resew a new loop in the strap, put the square u 1/4" rod through it and then it will be held equally on both sides of the "drum" shaft and then rewound on the winch. Mechanical minds shouldn't have too much problem understanding what I'm considering but I'm open to anything. That shaft is very smooth and the nylon belting just can't get a grip on it.
I'll include some pics here of my rig, I really like the 2 to 1 advantage I've gained by building my own snatch block for lifting the plow.