Polaris Ranger Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
2006 Ranger 500 EFI
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Evenin' folks,

I've been retired for a year and a half and have been blessed to buy some property, mostly hills and woods. I started looking at 4 wheelers, then decided a SxS would work better for us to help maintain the property and trails. I found a 2007 locally. It's a little rusty and has higher hours from being previously owned by an apartment complex, but seems to run and drive ok and the rust doesn't look like it's done serious damage. I'm new to these machines, so I may need to pick your brains from time to time if you don't mind. It needs a front bumper, and I'd like to add a winch, so I may try building something. I'm fairly mechanically able, so hopefully I can keep this thing up and running!

I know everyone likes pics, so here's a couple from the ad:

Wheel Tire Car Vehicle Hood
Tire Wheel Vehicle Car Hood

· Registered
2006 Ranger 500 EFI
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Looks good. My very first ranger was a red 06 and I drove the tires off of it. It should work great for you.
Thanks. Funny, a couple nights ago I bought a manual from ATV Service Manuals advertised by chris21 and found out when I deciphered the VIN that I have an 06 also.

I've been looking the machine over and have found a few minor things that need corrected: tie rod ends and CV and rack boots. I pulled the gas tank to clean the crud out underneath it and painted the top of the skid plate.

The belt has a chunk out of it and I've taken the secondary clutch off and am waiting to borrow a set of snap ring pliers to dig into it. I ordered a clutch puller for the primary so we'll see what I find there.

The PO had 'installed' a garden tractor battery, or I should say jerry rigged it, so I have to fab up a battery box. He just had it sitting on the plastic cover...

But, the brakes are good and the tires fair. As long as there's nothing too major I'll be happy.😎