Polaris Ranger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I am new to the forums, and currently in the market for a smaller sxs. I have been researching the Ranger 500 and the Honda Pioneer 500. I know all the “on paper” differences between them, and I’ve driven both a few times. Both dealers are relatively close, and the cost difference is minor (Honda maybe $350 less).

I am new to atv’s and utv’s - never owned either. I am older (59), so no crazy riding - nothing super fast or dangerous. My main uses are:

• Taking my 17 year old son, who has autism, for rides in the bush and teaching him to drive it.
  • Plowing my driveway.
  • My older son may drive it on bush roads near our home.
  • Minor, occasional yard work.
I have researched to the point of paralysis, and I’m looking for some advice from those who mayknow these machines. Any help would be appreciated!

Thank you!

·
Registered
21 Posts
When I was shopping for a larger machine last fall I found that the Honda was considerably noisier (engine noise) than the Polaris. I previously had Yamaha Rhino 400 and the only knock on the Yamaha was it was very noisy.

·
Super Moderator
2,373 Posts
The Honda 500 doesn't have a locker in the front differential which might be a problem plowing snow.
The Ranger is a step above the Honda in my opinion.

Smoother ride.
More stable.
Less noise.
Has a dump bed with a tailgate.
Has turf mode, which you will come to love if you get the Ranger.
Etc.

·
Registered
39 Posts
The Honda 500 was a little disappointing to me, now the 700 and 1000 is a different story, the 500 ranger is a good machine but to me the 570 for a few hundred more is a lot more power packed, 44 HP. That's as much as some of the 700s out there, the Yamaha Viking 700 is only 46HP

·
Registered
39 Posts