Polaris Ranger Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this has been discussed several times but it seems to be ongoing...at least for a friend and I.

Obviously I am new to the Ranger, or rather it is new to me. My buddy has had an 800 and now a Razr 1000. We have been going back and forth about oil and weights.

After much reading and research I purchased the Mobil 1 0w-40 synthetic for the 2015 Ranger 900xp. He keeps telling me I shouldn't use it due to the "40" and not "50" as polaris recommends for the new models. I see amsoil recommends the 0w-40 as a direct replacement and many people say they run Mobil 1 in the 0w-40. I am not wanting to get into who makes (sells) better quality oils. Just want to know if these new models will be fine running the mobil 1 0w-40 synthetic. By the way I live in north Florida.

·
Registered
447 Posts
Yes, it will be fine. Polaris 50 wt. quickly shears down to a 40 wt. Your engine is better protected with Mobil 1 or AMSOIL than it ever will be with Polaris oil. Polaris branded oil is really just a cheap oil from a no-name bottler. Polaris sells oil to make more money, do you really think they care if your engine wears out after the warranty expires? Heck no, they want to sell you a new machine, that's what they are in business to do, not make it last forever.

·
Registered
871 Posts
I run Mobil 20w-50. It's the same stuff an engine builder buddy of mine runs in his engines. If that's what he runs in 2000 plus hp engines that r over $40,000, it's good enuff for me.

·
Super Moderator
2,318 Posts
I run Mobil 20w-50. It's the same stuff an engine builder buddy of mine runs in his engines. If that's what he runs in 2000 plus hp engines that r over $40,000, it's good enuff for me.
I doubt if your buddy is going to start his $40,000 engine in those cold MN temperatures a thousand times during its short time between re-builds, so he can get away with that 20w.