Polaris Ranger Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The feature I cared the least about when I bought my 2014 ranger 570 turns out to be one of my favorite things about the machine. I live on a gravel road with one section of pavement with a sharp turn. I have been riding a sportsman 800 up and down it for 7 years and I guess I just got used to the fact that it was borderline dangerous on this turn. Bought the ranger only couple days ago and was riding with the rear different locked not really thinking about turf mode as I wasn't mowing a lawn. Haha. Anyway I was making this turn yesterday and it dawned on me to try turf mode on it. Holy smokes what a difference. It made the turn so much better and smoother. It feels like I can take it comfortably much faster than even on the sportsman. This initially ignored feature has really made me love this machine!

·
Registered
378 Posts
I'd guess 95+% of my 3200 miles has been in turf mode. Only use awd for steep hills and deep ruts, and the occasional snow. Really, no need for it most of the time where I ride. And, as suggested, the rig turns a lot smoother and tighter in turf mode.:cool:

·
Registered
9 Posts
Turf mode

I live by a lake with a large lawn that is wetter than most. When pulling docks, chores etc., on the grass I'm in turf mode, if I wasn't, my yard would look like a field after a NFL game, tore up, dug up and more. I had a different brand machine earlier and my bride kept on me about driving to fast on the lawn. To make a long story short I got a 570 and love it. I might add I had a Sportsman 500 before the turf ripper, and as you indicated the Polaris machines corner better in that mode on roads also. It's good that someone pointed that out because I think it is a best kept secret part of these machines.

·
Registered
163 Posts