Polaris Ranger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Pretty country and lots of terrain. If you want to ride this way let us know.

·
Registered
477 Posts
Another newbie here from West Virginia. Got hundreds of miles of mountain trails right in my back door and I'm within 25 miles of 3 Hatfield-McCoy trailheads.

·
Registered
1,250 Posts
Thats real cool guys! We try to make an annual run down to the Logan area if we can get it together.

It's usually just a bunch of NY Yanks invading the Hatfield & McCoys but we always have a blast.

I might have to call upon you for some lodging info if we can get a time when we are comming down.

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
It's crazy but we have never rode the H&M Trails. Guess we really have never had anyone to ride with down that way. Lots of trails in our back yard as well. We will ride anywhere. Always ready to go.

·
Registered
1,250 Posts
You raise a good point but being from out of state we always found it smarter to ride where we know we won't be in trouble.

Up here if you get caught on state owned land or get busted trespassing on private property then you face some serious fines and your machine can get impounded.

How that would be down there with a bunch of Yahoos out of NY might get ugly!

I know from my short time living in Belfry, KY that those hills are filled with trails and great places to ride but I also know you don't want to venture where you don't belong.

I missed a ride up here last year because I didn't have an ATV or SxS to go with. One of the guys who rides the trails all the time set it up. About 3/4 of the way through a gorgeous piece of woods they ran into a County Mounty road block and all got busted. These are all guys that live right here and every one of them ended up paying close to $1000 in fines for trespassing. Two of them had their machines impounded for not being registered and insured which is the law here.