Polaris Ranger Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New to me 2021 Crew 1000 Premium with OEM wiper. i have some limited electrical knowledge. Lights on switch operable, Washer works normally. Wiper does nothing when I push the switch. I disconnected the harness just before the wiper motor. Checked red and black wires, getting 12 volts with the switch off. Zero with the switch on. The relay does click when you operate the switch.

I pulled the cover off the wiper motor and discovered that the motor was hot. I turned the key off and let it cool down. Turned key on with the wiper switch off, motor got hot within about 30 seconds.

Seems to me that perhaps the relay is bad (open when should be closed and vice versa). But, if the motor is getting 12 volts with the switch off, why is the motor hot, but not running? How do i test this other than just buying a new relay?

BTW, there are 2 relays—smaller ones in a harness with a 20a fuse that seems to be for the washer. The larger one has 5 blades and seems to operate the wiper.

·
Registered
614 Posts
If it's getting hot with the switch off, that's not a good sign. If it were me, I'd start testing everything in the circuit. Since you have limited electrical knowledge, pictures of everything are going to help with explaining what and how to test.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Ok, I'll get pictures when I can. I did find the description of the wires in the harness to the motor just to be sure.

Red-Connector, Bullet, Wiper Motor, Operation
Black-Connector, Bullet, Wiper Motor, Ground
Green-Connector, Bullet, Wiper Motor, Park
Yellow-Connector, Bullet, Wiper Motor, B+ Switched

Turned the key on and this is what I observed
From the red, I get constant power (seems normal)
From the yellow, I get constant power--doesn't change when I operate the switch (seems like it should switch on an off with the switch?)